How Much Does California Online Drivers Ed Cost?
California sets no statewide price for the 30-hour online Driver Education course; the California DMV regulates the requirement itself, not what a provider charges to teach it. This page compares the price shown on each provider's own page, dated, plus what to expect for the separate in-person behind-the-wheel training DMV also requires. Some links below are affiliate links; see our affiliate disclosure. See the California drivers ed overview for the full requirement this cost applies to.
How Much Does the Online Driver Education Course Cost?
Among the seven providers profiled, the online course price on each provider's own page ranged from $11.99 to $49.00 as of September 2026, with three affiliate providers priced from $34.95 to $49.00 and one price not a flat figure. Prices change without notice, so confirm the current total on the provider's own checkout page before paying, since a promotional price shown in this table can lapse or change.
| Provider | Price | Affiliate link? | Source | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Urban Traffic School | $11.99, per the provider's own schema.org Offer markup for its California Driver Education Course product | No | urbantrafficschool.com | 2026-09-19 |
| NHSA Online Drivers Ed | $21.95 promotional (regular price shown crossed out at $34.95); certificate and shipping included; the provider posts "License #E2250" | No | nhsa.com | 2026-09-19 |
| Drivers Education USA | $19.90 promotional (regular price $49.90) | No | driverseducationusa.com | 2026-09-19 |
| California Driver Ed Course | Not disclosed as a flat price on the provider's own page; the provider posts "DMV License #E4608" elsewhere on the site | No | californiadriveredcourse.com | 2026-09-19 |
| Aceable | $49.00 promotional (regular $70.00); the provider posts "California DMV-Licensed Course E2017" on the same page | Yes | aceable.com | 2026-09-19 |
| DriversEd.com | $39.00 promotional (regular $59.00); the provider posts "DMV-Licensed (#4442)" under Easy Driving School LLC | Yes | driversed.com | 2026-09-19 |
| I Drive Safely | $34.95 promotional (regular $44.95) | Yes | idrivesafely.com | 2026-09-19 |
Are Aceable, DriversEd.com, and I Drive Safely's Prices as Reliable as the Other Four?
All seven prices on this page come from the same place, each provider's own page, and are dated in the table above; the prices are promotional and can change without notice, unlike a regulator-set fee. Aceable, DriversEd.com, and I Drive Safely are the affiliate providers named in approved providers, and this site may earn a commission if a reader enrolls through one of their links, disclosed at our affiliate disclosure.
A price appears here only with a dated source, shown in the Verified column above; the price is not a permanent number, since a promotional price can lapse or change. A reader comparing options should visit each provider's own current pricing page directly before paying.
How Much Does the Separate Behind-the-Wheel Training Cost?
Behind-the-wheel Driver Training is priced and booked separately from the online course by every provider profiled here, typically per-hour or per-session with a local instructor rather than bundled into the online purchase price. No provider on this site publishes a dated, statewide per-hour price for behind-the-wheel instruction, since pricing for that in-person service varies by local instructor and region.
DMV's Driver Training Schools and Licensing Fees pages, and Vehicle Code Division 5, Chapter 1 (the driving-school licensing statute), do not publish or set a behind-the-wheel instructor rate; the roughly $50 to $100 per hour figure cited on this site is third-party corroboration only (lessons.com), not a regulator source. See behind the wheel for what the 6-hour requirement itself involves.
Does California Charge a Separate Government Fee for Driver Education?
There is no DMV-collected fee tied specifically to the classroom Driver Education requirement; DMV licenses the schools that teach the course, but the course price a family pays goes to the private provider, not DMV. DMV does charge separate, standard fees for the instruction permit and later license applications, which are outside the scope of the Driver Education course price itself.
California DMV's own Licensing Fees page states a $46 original Class C driver license application fee and a separate $9 fee for a behind-the-wheel drive-test retest. DMV's own fee table shows the "Application - Original" row for Class C lists "$46," and "Driving (behind-the-wheel) retest" lists "$9." DMV's page does not itself state how many knowledge-test or drive-test attempts the $46 covers, so this page does not assert an attempt count beyond what DMV's table shows.
Is the Cheapest Provider Always the Best Choice?
No. None of the four non-affiliate providers below appears in DMV's public Occupational License Lookup under the name or number it posts, so price alone is not reliable; an unlicensed provider's certificate risks rejection regardless of price. Three of the four post a specific DMV Occupational License number on their own pages; see approved providers for whether that number appears in DMV's public lookup.
Before comparing price, check approved providers for each provider's DMV license status, and consider using DMV's own Occupational License Lookup tool directly before paying any provider.
Sources
| Fact | Value | Authority | URL | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Urban Traffic School price | $11.99 | Urban Traffic School (schema.org Offer markup) | https://www.urbantrafficschool.com/california/course/california-teen-drivers-ed-permit-course | 2026-09-19 |
| NHSA Online Drivers Ed price | $21.95 promotional (regular $34.95) | NHSA | https://nhsa.com/en/california-drivers-ed-online | 2026-09-19 |
| Drivers Education USA price | $19.90 promotional (regular $49.90) | Drivers Education USA | https://www.driverseducationusa.com/california-drivers-ed-online-enrollment | 2026-09-19 |
| California Driver Ed Course price | Not disclosed | California Driver Ed Course | https://www.californiadriveredcourse.com/online-driver-education/ | 2026-09-19 |
| No statewide DMV fee tied to the DE course price itself | No such fee appears on DMV's driver-training-schools pages | California DMV | https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/driver-education-and-safety/driver-training-schools/ | 2026-09-19 |
| DMV bulk provider roster availability | None; per-query search portal only | California DMV | https://drive.dmvonline.ca.gov/s/oll | 2026-09-19 |
| Behind-the-wheel per-hour price (corroborated only, no regulator source) | Roughly $50 to $100 per hour | Third-party pricing guide (lessons.com) | https://lessons.com/costs/driving-lessons-cost | 2026-09-19 |
| Original Class C driver license application fee | $46 | California DMV | https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/driver-licenses-identification-cards/licensing-fees/ | 2026-09-19 |
| Behind-the-wheel drive-test retest fee | $9 | California DMV | https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/driver-licenses-identification-cards/licensing-fees/ | 2026-09-19 |
| Aceable California course price | $49.00 promotional (regular $70.00) | aceable.com | https://www.aceable.com/drivers-ed/california/ | 2026-09-19 |
| DriversEd.com California course price | $39.00 promotional (regular $59.00) | driversed.com | https://driversed.com/california/teen-drivers-ed/ | 2026-09-19 |
| I Drive Safely California course price | $34.95 promotional (regular $44.95) | idrivesafely.com | https://www.idrivesafely.com/drivers-ed/california/ | 2026-09-19 |
Frequently asked questions
Does the online Driver Education price include the behind-the-wheel training?
No. Every provider profiled here prices and books behind-the-wheel Driver Training separately from the online Driver Education course.
Are Aceable, DriversEd.com, and I Drive Safely's prices sourced any differently from the other four providers?
No. All seven prices on this page come from each provider's own page, dated in the table above. Aceable, DriversEd.com, and I Drive Safely are simply the three providers this site links as affiliates; see approved providers for that distinction.
Are promotional prices shown here guaranteed to still be active?
No. Promotional prices change without notice; confirm the current total directly on the provider's own checkout page before paying.
Does California DMV charge a fee for the driver education course itself?
DMV does not publish a fee tied specifically to the course; the price paid goes to the private provider. Separate, standard DMV fees apply to the instruction permit and license applications themselves.
Is a higher-priced provider more likely to be DMV-licensed?
Not necessarily. Price and DMV licensing status are independent facts; always check approved providers and DMV's own lookup tool regardless of price.
Does cadriversedonline.com set or collect any of these prices?
No. cadriversedonline.com is an independent information site; it does not set, collect, or process course fees. See our about page and our affiliate disclosure.